Frogs and snail and puppy dog tails

So my oldest son got the "long awaited" acceptance to Virginia Fire Department, I am so proud of him, he had to overcome so much during this process just to get here, this is a dream come true for him, he has always wanted to be a fire-fighter since he was 4 and rode a "real" fire truck.

He is a rescuer by nature, but since receiving the acceptance letter, I had to sit and imagine him in uniform and all his gear, yes he is strong and built, he works out and know everything there is about training but see as his mom, I see my baby.

The little boy that asked for "Donald's" for dinner, the one that hid the frog in his pants, because he wanted a pet after I told him how gross they were.

That little boy, that wanted his sister to go back to "her people" at the hospital.

The kid that used tonka trucks as skates
The one that gave me a heart attack every day because with out "warning" he will jump and in mid air scream, mom catch, oh boy! By the grace of God I have never dropped him,

So yes he is on to bigger things, he is crushing mountain and slaying giants but he will still be my little boy,
The one I hold at night and sing "you are my sunshine", the one who can imitate every Tyler Perry movie, that one that gave new meaning to " we are family"!

Yes Rayshawn is on his way to saving lives and on to being an amazing public servant, but he first saved my life, that day, when I almost swallowed a bottle of pills, except I didn't want my then 5 year old to be the one that finds my body.

So frogs and snails and puppy dogs tails but this little boy is on his way!

Leave a comment